I deleted a story by mistake: can I still recover my media?

Last Updated: Jan 23, 2017 03:12PM PST
Mukurtu strives to follow best practices in digital media management and archiving, which makes it easier not to lose your media files in case of failed upload, app crash or other unforeseen interruption of the content creation process.
You can also read:
Upload failed! Where did my content go?
Where will my stories be uploaded?
Where will my Mukurtu Mobile media be uploaded?

IMAGES

If you have imported your image from the gallery, the original file will still be available in your device's Gallery at any time. This file will have the maximum available quality and all original EXIF metadata and other metadata supported by your device, including geolocation if enabled.
Also, if you're using Mukurtu Mobile on Android, a derivative copy of your image (e.g. with the specified resizing settings) created within the app will be available in a separate folder (usually a /Mukurtu/ folder). Please note Android images could take several hours to show up in the file system, depending on your device.

If you have taken a new picture using the app camera feature, an original digital for the image will be saved locally when you save your story. The image will then be available whether or not you have uploaded the story to your Mukurtu archive. Your image will still be saved locally if you delete a story before uploading it, or delete the image while editing a saved story. On your Apple devices you will find the image in your device's Photoroll, while in Android it will be stored in a separate folder (usually a /Mukurtu/ folder in your file system). Also please note Android images could take several hours to show up in the file system, depending on your device.

VIDEOS

The original video file will still be available in your device's Gallery at any time. If you are using Mukurtu Mobile on Android, a derivative (compressed) video file will be available in a separate folder (usually a /Mukurtu/ folder). Please note Android videos could take several hours to show up in the file system, depending on your device.

AUDIOS

Audio files recorded within Mukurtu Mobile will be saved to your device as soon as you're saving your story. These files will then be available whether or not you have uploaded them to your Mukurtu archive. Your audio file will still be saved locally on Android if you delete a story before uploading it, or delete the audio while editing a saved story. If you are using an Android device, audio files will be stored in a separate folder (usually a /Mukurtu/ folder). Please note Android audios could take several hours to show up in the file system, depending on your device. If you are using Mukurtu Mobile on your iPhone or iPad, you will have to follow an easy recovery procedure to locate your audio files on the device. Connect your device to a computer, access the device in iTunes and open the "Apps" tab. The File Sharing section will be at the bottom of the page, and by clicking on "Mukurtu" you will be able to retrieve and delete all your audio, and the images and videos of the items currently saved locally on the device (not uploaded yet). Find more detailed instructions here about iOS File Sharing.

*TIP: Unfortunately, you may still lose your media in some cases, such as if your phone or tablet crashes, you quit the application, or the application crashes before you can save the media, or the story you are working on. If you want more ease taking pictures to use in your story, you may want to use your device's camera to ensure the original version is stored in your gallery, and import photos later rather than taking them using the app's camera feature.

How do I add an image to my story in Mukurtu Mobile
How do I add an audio to my story in Mukurtu Mobile
How do I add a video to my story in Mukurtu Mobile