How to Add Users to Communities and Cultural Protocols and Manage Group Roles

Last Updated: May 18, 2017 09:44AM PDT
For detailed information about the different roles available in Communities and Cultural Protocols, see How do User Roles and Permissions Work?


Communities

To add a user to a community, or to change a user’s role or membership within a community, from the chosen community page, click Manage Members in the Members box on the right.



A list of all users in the community, their status, and their role(s) will be displayed.
To add a user to the community, click Add Members in the top right of the screen.



Begin typing the chosen username, and then choose from the drop-down list that appears.
If the user will be a community manager, check the box beside that role. If the user will simply be a member of the community, leave the box unchecked.
Click Add users at the bottom of the screen.



To remove a user from the community, click remove on the far right of the screen.
Note that this will also remove the user from all cultural protocols within the community.



Click Remove to confirm.



To change a user’s role from member to community manager or vice versa, or to block the user from the community, click edit on the far right of the screen.



Change the status and/or role as needed.
Click Update membership.

Cultural Protocols

To add a user to a cultural protocol, or to change a user’s role or membership within a cultural protocol, from the chosen cultural protocol page, click Manage Members in the Members box on the right.



A list of all users in the cultural protocol, their status, and their role(s) will be displayed.
To add a user to the cultural protocol, click Add Members in the top right of the screen.



Begin typing the chosen username, and then choose from the drop-down list that appears.
If the user will be a contributor or a protocol steward, check the box beside that role. If the user will simply be a member of the cultural protocol, leave the box unchecked.
Click Add users at the bottom of the screen.



To remove a user from the cultural protocol, click remove on the far right of the screen.
Note, the creator of a cultural protocol cannot be removed from the cultural protocol.



Click Remove to confirm.



To change a user’s role between member, contributor, and protocol steward, or to block the user from the cultural protocol, click edit on the far right of the screen.



Change the status and/or role as needed.
Click Update membership.